Post apocalyptic atmosphere

Edifici Narcís Monturiol

I am a huge fun of post apocalyptic movies, games and atmosphere overall. In fact I really would like to participate or work on such a movie one day. Of course being a mortal I have very little chance to do it, but I had to realize that the receipt of post apocalyptic scenery is actually very simple.

My main ingredients are some early morning mist, a high tech solar cell covered concrete building (very easy to find), an old Exakta loaded with  Kodak Gold and 2 vintage glasses (Zeiss Jena Tessar 50mm f/2.8 and Meyer Optic Trioplan 100mm f/2.8).

For some reason these shoots reminds me to the movie Delicatessen which I can faithfully recommend to watch. OK ,there aren’t any high tech in that movie, but the fog creates a similar sensation to me at the opening scenes.

This building by the way is a member of the Technological park of the University in Girona in Spain and I am lucky enough to work in this strange complex. I took these photos a morning during my regular walk to work.

Interesting note that  this building is named after Narcís Monturiol i Estarriol who invented the first fully functional submarine. Also interesting the fact that (as far as I know) the solar cells were actually never in use even though the construction has finished around 2009. I hope they will be operational one day. I guess these must  be a bit expensive for decoration purposes only. I love the way they look like anyway.

Girona (Catalonia), Exakta Varex IIa, Meyer Trioplan 100mm f/2.8, Kodak Gold 200, Canoscan 9900F

Girona (Catalonia), Exakta Varex IIa, Meyer Trioplan 100mm f/2.8, Kodak Gold 200, Canoscan 9900F

Girona (Catalonia), Exakta Varex IIa, Carl Zeiss Jena Tessar 50mm f/2.8, Kodak Gold 200, Canoscan 9900F

Girona (Catalonia), Exakta Varex IIa, Carl Zeiss Jena Tessar 50mm f/2.8, Kodak Gold 200, Canoscan 9900F

Girona (Catalonia), Exakta Varex IIa, Carl Zeiss Jena Tessar 50mm f/2.8, Kodak Gold 200, Canoscan 9900F

Girona (Catalonia), Exakta Varex IIa, Meyer Trioplan 100mm f/2.8, Kodak Gold 200, Canoscan 9900F

Girona (Catalonia), Exakta Varex IIa, Meyer Trioplan 100mm f/2.8, Kodak Gold 200, Canoscan 9900F

Looking at these photos I started to wonder what kind of strange world could it be in a movie, and I thought it would be cool to fill the frames with weird creatures to move the scenes away from our regular world. I am not really good at hand drawing so the creatures/images are came from Wookieepedia and as you already figured out they are from the Star Wars universe. The name of the creature is Kowakian monkey-lizard if you were interested.

Girona (Catalonia), Exakta Varex IIa, Meyer Trioplan 100mm f/2.8, Kodak Gold 200, Canoscan 9900F, Creatures from Wookieepedia

2 comments

  1. Daniels Diary · March 26, 2012

    you have done a great job capturing the apocalyptic mood! The undersaturated colors are really nice combined with the fog. However the monkey-lizards doesn’t belong there IMO.

    • camerajunky · March 26, 2012

      Thx! Right some cyber punk guys would be way better instead of the monkey-lizards.

Leave a Reply

